Evans elected as Board Chairman Georgia DOT

Represents 10th Congressional District

Atlanta, United States of America – The State Transportation Board Thursday 2006-06-15 elected Mike Evans as chairman.

Evans represents the 10th Congressional District on the 13-member board and replaces David Doss of
Rome as chairman.

“Evans shows an interest in total operations of transportation in Georgia,” said Garland
Pinholster, who nominated Evans as chair.

Prior to joining the board in 2003, Evans was a member of the Georgia House of
Representatives from 1993 until 2001 and was the Republican Caucus Leader from 1995 to 2001.

Evans is an Ellijay native and attended Georgia State University. For the past two years Evans has served as vice chairman and has worked to make the Department more effective and reach the strategic goals of the Governor’s initiative to make Georgia
one of the best-run states, a cohesive goal he shared with Doss.

“I am glad to have Mr. Evans as the chairman, he has been an untiring public servant and I
am looking forward to working together,” said Commissioner Harold Linnenkohl.

Doss served two consecutive terms as chairman of the board and will remain on the board to represent the 11th congressional district.

“I appreciate the honor and opportunity to serve as chairman,” Doss said.

Also Thursday 2006-06-15, Garland Pinholster of Ball Ground was elected as board vice chairman. Mr.
Pinholster succeeds Evans as vice chairman.

The State Transportation Board is comprised of 13 members representing each of Georgia’s 13 congressional districts. Board members are elected by a legislative caucus that is made up of
members of the Georgia House of Representatives and Senate representing the districts. Elections of
board members are staggered with two members being elected each year. Elected to five-year terms,
board members have general control and supervision of the Department of Transportation, including
authority to name the Commissioner of Transportation. Evans will be up for re-election by a
legislative caucus when his current term expires in 2008.

Auteur: Redactie Infrasite

Bron: Georgia Department of Transportation