Eurotunnel appoints two new directors

Folkestone, Kent, United Kingdom – Following the resignation of Jean-Louis Raymond as a director of Eurotunnel, the Joint Board of Eurotunnel has 2007-06-05 made the following appointments, effective immediately:

  • Tim Yeo, MP is appointed as a non-executive director of Eurotunnel P.L.C.;
  • Pierre Bilger is appointed as a non-executive director of Eurotunnel SA.

Tim Yeo is Member of Parliament for Suffolk South and chairman of the House of Commons Environmental Audit Select Committee. He was Minister of State for the Countryside and Environment and was a member of the Shadow Cabinet where he served, inter alia, as Shadow Secretary of State for Trade and Industry and Shadow Secretary of State for Environment and Transport. Tim Yeo is a director of ITI Energy Limited and is Chairman of Univent Plc and AFC Energy Plc. He was also founding Chairman of the Children’s Trust, a charity which took over Tadworth Court Children’s Hospital.

An inspecteur des finances, Pierre Bilger devoted his 15-year career in the French public service (1967-1982) to dealing principally with budgetary issues. His career in industry, spanning 21 years, started in 1982 at Compagnie Générale d’Electricité (now Alcatel Lucent) of which he led the privatisation as CFO and deputy Chief Executive. It continued at Alsthom from 1987, then Gec Alsthom of which he became Chief Executive Officer in March 1991 before becoming Chairman and Chief Executive of its successor Alstom, from its IPO in 1998 until 2003. Mr. Bilger currently chairs the Dutch-law foundation Stichting Preference Shares Renault-Nissan and is one of the advisors to the Management Consulting Group plc.

Jacques Gounon, Chairman and Chief Executive of Eurotunnel declared: “I am delighted that Tim Yeo, an MP and ex-minister of Her Majesty’s government as well as Pierre Bilger who chaired the Franco-British group Gec Alsthom, now Alstom, have joined the Board. This demonstrates our clear intention to recreate within the Board a binational culture and it should convince British shareholders, who tendered less than 60% of their total Units, to take advantage of the reopening to tender their Units to the Offer before 14 June 2007.”

The Joint Board has also resolved to convene the annual general meetings of Eurotunnel SA and Eurotunnel PLC in Coquelles (France) on 27 July 2007 at 4 p.m. (French time). It must be noted that, on that date, Eurotunnel SA and Eurotunnel PLC will have become subsidiaries of Groupe Eurotunnel SA (GET SA) which will therefore control them.